Return to Headlines

Congratulations 2021 Coconino County Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

Congratulations to all educators that received honors during the 2021 Coconino County Teacher of the Year and Rookie Teacher of the Year event held September 17, 2021, at the Museum of Northern Arizona. 

Educator Lifetime Achievement Award – Joe Gutierrez, principal at Killip Elementary School (FUSD) 

Teacher of the Year – Joshua Brink of Desert View Intermediate School – Page, Arizona 

Ambassadors of Excellence – Susan Burdick of Thomas Elementary (FUSD) and Trina Siegfried of Williams Elementary School.   

Rookie Teacher of the Year – Jessica Spink of Sinagua Middle School (FUSD) 

Rookie Ambassadors of Excellence – Alianah Mijares from Marshall Elementary School (FUSD) and Larissa Stack of Mount Elden Middle School (FUSD) 

STEM Teacher of the Year – Sheryl Wells of Killip Elementary School (FUSD)

STEM Student of the Year – Oscar Landa-Samano of Coconino High School (FUSD)

Photos of the event can be viewed at

(Information provided by the Coconino County Superintendent of Schools)