The IB Diploma

  • In order for students to earn the IB Diploma, they must earn a minimum of 24 out of 45 points through "The Core", taking classes, and passing exams in each of the six subject groups. There are other specific requirements for the diploma, including how points are awarded and the minimum scores for various components - see the IB Diploma Programme: Earning the Diploma page for details.

    The six subject groups are Language A (the student's primary language of study), Language B (the student's language acquisition), Individuals and Societies (typically Social Studies classes), the Sciences (both lab and non-lab sciences), Mathematics, and the Arts.

    For details about each component of the IB Diploma, see below.

The Core: TOK, CAS, and EE

  • TOK - Theory of Knowledge

  • CAS - Creativity, Activity, and Service

  • EE - Extended Essay

Group 1: Language A

  • IB Language A: English Language and Literature 11 & 12 HL

Group 2: Language B

  • IB Language B: Spanish ab Initio

  • IB Language B: Spanish SL

  • IB Language B: Spanish HL

Group 3: Individuals and Societies

  • IB History of the Americas and the World HL

Group 4: The Sciences

  • IB Biology HL

  • IB Computer Science SL (1 year only)

Group 5: Mathematics

  • IB Mathematics: Applications and Interpretations SL

  • IB Mathematics: Applications and Interpretations HL

Group 6: The Arts

  • IB Visual Arts SL/HL